Week 7 Play: Image Sharing and Creative Commons

This week’s play activity involves posting a photo every day for 7 days on either flickr or instagram. I chose instagram, which unfortunately does not allow for images to be saved, and I’m not sure if the pictures can be accessed by those who do not have an instagram account.

As such, I’ve taken screenshots of from my instagram account, cropped them, and an posting the images here!

Does this mean I’m pirating my own content? Or am I breaching instagram’s rules? Or does this content cease to belong to me altogether and become instagram’s property?

I have four pictures so far, but I will update this post as I continue to post photos for the next 3 days.

Day 1
sushi

Day 2
sculpture

Day 3
strawberry

Day 4
city

Day 5
instagram5

Day 6
instagram6

Day 7
instagram7

Now that I have realised that I cannot (easily) place photos from my instagram account into a blog post, I feel that this method of sharing photos is quite restrictive. Had I known that this would be the case, I would have probably opted to use flickr instead.

2 thoughts on “Week 7 Play: Image Sharing and Creative Commons

  1. Hey Jen – I like your pictures! Was curious to read that you can’t save the photos. Do you have an iPhone? There should be a setting in Instagram where you can automatically save any pictures you take on the app to your phone’s camera roll. Otherwise, I’m thinking you should be able to share your snaps via email within Instagram. Send them to your email address and then save them on your computer to be uploaded to your WP blog. Hope this help!

Leave a Reply

