Week 6 Play: Social Networking Sites

For my week 6 play activity I posted a link to the New York Public Library on the Information Programs Facebook page with the following comment:

Hi! so for something from the other side of the world, I’m going to talk about the New York Public Library’s facebook page for the week 6 play activity. NYPL caters to alot of people from all sorts of different backgrounds (or so I’d imagine… can’t say I’ve been there just yet, but its on the list…). Their facebook page is very active, and has features such as a book of the day and notices of public events taking place at the library. The facebook page also has a blog attached, which is updated very regularly (multiple times per day), with a wide variety of information that could be of interest to the public, from promoting book clubs to letting the public know when recruitment events are happening. Overall I feel the page has a great sense of community about it, and despite my limited experience with facebook, I would say that NYPL have used it very well.

nypl photoshop

Leave a Reply

