Week 3 Reflect: Microblogging

Unexpectedly, twitter has played a fairly large role so far in my library and information studies degree. What with libraries trying to keep as up to date with technology as possible, it seems that libraries and librarians have embraced microblogging and view it as an important factor in promoting libraries and library related activities, as well as being a tool to be used for professional development (Hall & Loudon, 2010, p. 236), hence the focus on social media within the MIT LIS major.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, I have never been particularly drawn to social media. This is the first blog I have ever started (can you tell :p) and I joined twitter only a few months ago, as it was a requirement of a subject I was enrolled in last semester.

I have, however, enjoyed using twitter so far, and even if I don’t post much myself, I do think its a great way to keep in contact with classmates, and to get news from a variety of different sources.

As far as twitter’s role in my learning experience is concerned, I feel that the most beneficial aspect of having a twitter account is being able to contact and interact with other students. I can’t say I’ve perfected this yet, probably due to lack of expertise, however I enjoy following various LIS teachers and students, and it helps me keep track of where everyone else is up to in subjects, and is also a useful alternate way of asking tutors questions about classes and assignments.

In the future I believe I will continue to use twitter, since although I am not a very active user in terms of posting, it acts as an excellent personalised newsfeed. My future as a blogger, however, is something I am still unsure of, as the blogging world is still all very new to me, and my experience with keeping this blog throughout the semester will be likely to shape my opinion on continuing to blog in the future.

References

Hall, H., & Loudon, L. (2010). From triviality to business tool: The case of twitter in library and information services delivery. Business Information Review, 27(4), 236-241. DOI: 10.1177/0266382110390480

Leave a Reply

